1. THE ARCHDIOSEAN SYNOD - An assembly of selected priests and other members of Christ's faithful of Abuja Archdiocese which, for the good of the whole archdiocesan community, assists the Archbishop in accordance with Canons 461-468. The synod is to be held when the Archbishop, after consulting the council of priests, judges that circumstances suggest for it.
  2. THE ARCHDIOCESAN CURIA- Is composed of those institutes and persons who assist the Archbishop in governing the entire Archdiocese, especially in directing pastoral action, in providing for the administration of the archdiocese, and in exercising judicial power.
  3. THE COUNCIL OF PRIESTS- A group of priests who represent the presbyterium and who are to be, as it were, the Archbishop's senate. The council's role is to assist the Archbishop, in accordance with the law, in the governance of the archdiocese, so that the pastoral welfare of this portion of the people of God entrusted to the Archbishop may be effectively promoted. The council is composed of ex-officio members, elected members and appointed members.

       4.THE COLLEGE OF CONSULTORS- From the members of the council of priests, the Archbishop freely appoints not few than six and not more than twelve priests, who are for five years to the constitute the college of consultors.

  1. THE ARCHDIOCESAN PASTORAL COUNCIL- It consists of members of the Christian faithful who are in full communion with the Catholic Church—clerics, members of institutes of consecrated life, and especially laity—who are designated in a manner determined by the Archbishop. The Christian faithful who are designated to a pastoral council are selected in such a way that they truly reflect the entire portion of the people of God which constitutes the archdiocese, with consideration given to the different areas of the archdiocese, social conditions and professions, and the role which they have in the apostolate whether individually or joined with others. No one except members of the Christian faithful outstanding in firm faith, good morals, and prudence is designated to a pastoral council (Canon 512). Can. 513 §1. A pastoral council is constituted for a period of time according to the prescripts of the statutes which are issued by the Archbishop. When the see is vacant, a pastoral council ceases. (513). Can. 514 §1. A pastoral council possesses only a consultative vote. It belongs to the Archbishop alone to convoke it according to the needs of the apostolate and to preside over it; it also belongs to him alone to make public what has been done in the council. The pastoral council is to be convoked at least once a year. (Canon 514).

       6 a. PARISH: A parish is a certain community of the Christian faithful stably constituted in a particular church, whose pastoral care is entrusted to a parish priest as its proper pastor under the authority of the Archbishop.

       6 b.QUASI-PARISH: A quasi-parish is equivalent to a parish; a quasi-parish is a definite community of the Christian faithful in a particular church, entrusted to a priest as its proper pastor but not yet erected as a parish because of particular circumstances.

  1. VICARIATE FORANE OR DEANERY: It is composed of a certain number of parishes in which one of the parish priests is placed in charge of it. The priest placed in charge of it is called Vicar Forane, Dean or Archpriest. The duty and the right of a Dean are contained in Canon 555. In Abuja Archdiocese, there are six deaneries: Garki, Wuse, Karu, Lugbe, Gwagwalada and Bwari.
  2. RECTORIES AND CHAPLAINCIES: Seminaries, Universities, Schools, Army/Navy/Air Force Chaplaincies, Offices.

Language Translate

Weather Forecast

Receive Newsletter