Who are the different Herods in the Bible?

Who are the different Herods?


  • Herod the Great (born c. …
  • Herod Archelaus (23 BC–c. …
  • Herod Antipas (born 21 BC, ruled 4 BC–AD 39), tetrarch of Galilee and Peraea and in the New Testament orders the death of John the Baptist and mocks Jesus.
  • Philip the Tetrarch or Herod Philip II, (born c. …
  • Herod II or Herod Philip I (c. …
  • Herod Agrippa (born c.

Who were the four Tetrarchs in Jesus time?

The term was first used to denote the governor of any of the four tetrarchies into which Philip II of Macedon divided Thessaly in 342 bc—namely, Thessaliotis, Hestiaeotis, Pelasgiotis, and Phthiotis.

Which Herod did Jesus appear before?

Jesus at Herod’s court refers to an episode in the New Testament which describes Jesus being sent to Herod Antipas in Jerusalem, prior to his crucifixion. This episode is described in the Gospel of Luke (23:7–15).

Is King Herod the same as Herod Antipas?

Herod Antipas – a nickname derived from Antipatros – was the son of the Jewish king Herod the Great and his wife Malthace; he was full brother of Archelaus and a half brother of Philip. With his brothers Archelaus and Philip, he was educated in Rome, a kind of honorable detention to guarantee his father’s loyalty.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  How did St John of the Cross pray?

Who was Herod Agrippa’s father?

Aristobulus IV
Ирод Агриппа I/Отцы
Искать: Who was Herod Agrippa’s father?